Marcin Antczak Award

for an outstanding ornithological paper

The Marcin Antczak Award is presented annually for an outstanding and inspiring ornithological paper published in the preceding year in a peer-reviewed journal.

The candidate can be an amateur or professional scientist up to 37 years old who originates from Poland, the Czech Republic or Slovakia; or can be from any other country if the research upon which the paper is based was carried out in any of the aforementioned countries. The ideas presented in the awarded paper must be strongly related to the field of ornithology; studies on difficult and charismatic species (or topics) will be favoured.

The nominee must be the sole author, or leading (the first and corresponding) author of multi-author paper and should have played a prominent role in shaping the publication.

This award comes with a cash prize and a unique, hand made silver shrike badge. The awarded Author must agree to give a lecture in Poznań (Poland); costs will be covered by the inviting institution. Details about the award will be published in Acta Ornithologica.

Nominations are proposed and awarded by the International Board of Marcin Antczak Award (IBMAA), consisting of ornithologists from Poland, Czech Republic and Slovakia, but any ornithologist in encouraged to send their personal nomination to the Board with a maximum two page covering letter justifying their choice.

Nominations should be sent to before 1st March each year. The results will be announced in summer and the successful author will be invited to present their research in Poznań at a convenient date (usually in October). The invited lecture will be a ticketed event and funds raised will go to help Marcin Antczak’s family.

Dr Marcin Antczak was an excellent field ornithologist working on shrikes and other bird species in Central Europe and Africa. He tragically lost his life in car accident on his way to the field on 2nd May 2014, in his 37th year of life. This award commemorates his contribution to ornithology.

The International Board of Marcin Antczak Award (for 2018 Award) consists of Elodie Briefer (Institute of Agricultural Sciences, ETH Zürich),Svein Dale (University of Life Sciences, Norway), Martin Hromada (University of Presov, Slovakia), Anton Krištín (Institute of Forest Ecology SAS, Slovakia), Tomasz D. Mazgajski (Muzeum and Institute of Zoology, Polish Academy of Sciences, Poland), Piotr Tryjanowski (University of Life Science, Poland), Sandra Vehrencamp (Cornell University, USA), Tomasz S. Osiejuk – chairman (Adam Mickiewicz University, Poland) and earlier awarded persons: Piotr Minias (University of Łódź, Poland), Jiří Reif (Charles University in Prague, Czechia).